Citizen`s Arrest

This is pretty awesome, I am writing a blog two days in a row. This is mainly because I have an exciting story to tell, but first, a picture:

Feed Me!

Michael and I went to Le Jardin d`Acclimitation last month. There are rides, lots of games for kids and farm animals. That is why I like it. In the Spring there are tons of baby sheep and goats and sometimes, if they come over to the fence, you can pet them, like this guy. However, the sheep don`t really like to be touched, just fed. The goats love to be pet, especially the adults.

Okay, well I will get back to the animals later, let this sheep photo wet your appetite.

Today is Monday. Sometimes I feel very un-enthused when I wake up on Monday morning. That was the case today. I wanted the weekend to continue. First I went next door to train Eve. Her husband Paul was playing James Brown. Elise was dancing, and it ended up being very fun. So, my lundi got better. Then I did a core workout and got ready for school. I was biking up the canal Saint Martin as usual. It is a beautiful sunny day today. I was about three quarters through my fifteen minute ride. I began to cross an intersection and pulled onto the bike path that runs along the canal still further North into the 18th arrondissement. I heard a yell and turned to look. A young man was sprinting away with an Iphone and headphones is his hand. The victim, a woman about 30 years old, had yelled at him, and then gave up, looking sadly at the ground. I don`t know what got into me, but I took off after him on my bike. He ran to the left running  along the canal. I stayed on the right, on the bike path. A long movie theatre MK3, was between us. At the end of the theater he came back towards me and I cut him off. He stopped right in front of me and I grabbed his arm and said, Donne-moi-la! (Give it to me) He said in French, “What did yous see?” I told him I saw him take the iphone from the woman. He took off again. I rode over the curb to chase him yelling, “Voleur! Voleur!” (Thief, Thief!) At this a couple men started to chase him. And then, his loosely tied black and white addidas sneaker fell off. I bent over and grabbed it. He stood staring at me, he thought, and then he gave me the iphone. I gave him his shoe and rode back as fast as I could to return the stolen item. When I got back to the crime scene, the woman was surrounded by a small group of people. She was sad and stared at me approaching her. I stopped my bike and handed her the iphone. The look on her face truly made my day. She was so surprised and happy. “Merci beaucoup!” she said. I was so full of what I took to be endorphins, I was shaking and could barely talk. “Je vous en prie.” I replied. She asked how I did it. I told her. A man in the group said, “Bravo!”, and clapped for me. Everyone was smiling. Then I rode into the sunset on my trusty Apache (my bike`s name). I felt like a real hero. I made it to class, ten minutes late. I was dripping sweat and I told the class what happened. My teacher, Patrick said I am wonder woman, and then he sang a song about Wonder Kristine. I`ve been smiling about this all day. It`s fun to be a superhero.

3 thoughts on “Citizen`s Arrest

  1. We are so proud of you!!!!!Bravo! Bravo!!!!!! We are in S. Korea and having just a great time. I ill have to share your brave story with your Aunt Jodi and Uncle Todd. Jodi has made a couple of citizen’s arrests, one involved a child she took from a drunk father. She ran into a McDonald’s, climbed over tables, and hid in the MEN’s room until it was safe to come out. By that time the police were there and she turned the child over to them. You girls are Amazon warriors……Congratulations!!! We are going to a Buddhist Temple tomorrow (I will think of Michael), then to a parade. There is a celebration because it is Buddha’s birthday. Hugs to both you and Michael. Love you bunches….The Grandma

Leave a Reply

