Chausson aux poires et caramel

The weather has been mostly beautiful in Paris lately. I have been working hard training my clients, going to French class and studying to take my ACE exam in August to become a certified personal trainer. I finally get to visit the US in August. I will have not been there for two years by that time. I can hardly stand my excitement to see my family and friends. You may all expect that I will be very Parisian when I arrive in in the States, but I`m not, I haven`t been able to afford the clothes to become so.

Here is a photo of an noteworthy meal I made in March (I am a little behind with posting my pics.) This is Rigatoni with Eggplant and Pine Nut Crunch from the March 2011 Bon Apétit. It was very satisfying. I made it for a special occasion. Our friend David, who we met our first month in Paris was visiting from NY, unfortunately his wife and my good friend, Taryn could not make it. She is too busy in the city with her new macaron business, http://www.courslareine.com/. Way to go Taryn!

The picture below was taken from my apartment window on a lovely Spring morning at the end of March. You can see from the damp spots on my neighbors roof that it had been raining during the night. I love these neighbors across the street because they have so many beautiful plants on their balcony, making it peaceful to gaze out my window as I eat or study. They also have a son who looks to be about 10. Sometimes he climbs out those top windows onto the roof and runs back and forth between them with only his socks on his feet. Once he did this for so long that I became nervous that he would fall to his death so I yelled to him, “Ca c`est dangereux!” He ran inside and did not come back out until one day months later when his friend was over. I yelled at them again to go inside, causing them to disappear. After about five minutes they peeped their heads out of the sunroof to the left and held up a sign to me. I couldn`t read it and I told them so. They immediately dropped out of sight and I have not seen them on the roof since. The mother may never know that I possibly saved that boy`s life, and now I am the grouchy old lady across the street.

Pretty morning light

Same morning out my window to the left

The following pictures are from one of my favorite boulangerie/patisserie in Paris, Eric Kayser. I go there often because it is on the way home from two of my clients homes. It`s great getting to work all over the city because that way I get to sample pastries, breads and other delicacies from all different neighborhoods. The photos were taken right before Easter. I like the French variations on the chocolate bunny.

French Golfer

Chocolate Ducks, and Small Bunnies in dark or milk chocolate

Little cakes, chocolate eggs, macarons and eclairs

This is what I bought at Eric Kayser, a puff pastry pocket coated in sugar and filled with cooked pears and caramel sauce. I have tried almost every type of pastry on can have in Paris since we made almost all of them at my Pastry School, Ferrandi, so much so that I rarely purchase them anymore because so many turn out to be mediocore, but not this. I could tell from the moment I saw it behind the glass at the top of display case that it would be exceptional. It was difficult to wait to try it until I got home, but I did, and enjoyed it with a cup of black tea with milk. It was perfect.

Chausson aux caramel et poires

It looks kind of alive with an old cramugin mouth. But it sure didn`t taste that way.

Beauty

Can`t you just taste the buttery caramely goodness?

I hope that every single one of you who reads this blog, if you have not yet done so, and even if you have, will come visit me in Paris. We can go to Eric Kayser together.

Shout out to my siblings: Kimberly, Visit her blog. Walter, I can`t wait till you come and visit! And Natalie, visit her blog.



2 thoughts on “Chausson aux poires et caramel

  1. I love reading about your experiences:) These occurrences are like scenes from a movie, your details put me in the moment. I hope you keep
    doing great!

Leave a Reply

