Culinary delights, friends and children writing on walls

Well, it`s only been a million years since my last post. I hope you all haven`t given up on Fire-cakes. To tell you the truth, blogging is VERY challenging for me. I am not sure how to fit it in my schedule. But I do love sharing my life with everyone who is interested, especially my family. I hope to improve in my time management skills so I will blog more.

A lot has happened since my last post about the delicious Maple Walnut Bars that Katie made at the Tapas party. For example, I have eaten grilled cheese numerous times.

So good.

I`ve made Michael pose for picture with me.

Escargot Praliné

I`ve eaten many pastries from Du Pain et des Idées, a fantastic and rustic boulangerie in my neighborhood.

Dinner Chez Katie

Katie and her room-mate Céline had us over for Enchiladas and a wine lesson.

Cigarettes

Céline`s friend brought her a pack of cigarettes with Ché Guevarra on the front. Fumer tue=Smoking kills.

Who does this kid think he is?

There is lots of interesting street art is Paris. I love this one.

One of many

The warmer the weather gets, the more salads I make.

Pineapples are in season. I learned how to properly butcher them in pastry school, but you will get the same results by watching a you tube video.

These peppers were really hot, so they decided to take a swim.

Katie brought these Ancho and Arbol dried chiles to me from Boston because they are close to impossible to find in Paris. I rehydrate them by soaking them in warm water for 30 minutes.

This rice and beans with pineapple salsa was particularly satisfying.

Katie and Andreas

We were lucky enough to have a visit from Michael`s Swedish friend Andreas. He is one of the funniest people ever and kept me laughing all day. Michael and I spent most of the time making fun of Swedes and Sweden because they are so pure, innocent and sheltered from the hardships of the world. Andreas countered this by showing us a youtube video of a clip from a show called wife swap, in which a chubby  eight-year-old southern boy tries to convince his new “mom” that bacon is good for him. Then he runs away to his grandmother`s house so he can get some chicken nuggets. I guess we all have our cultural flaws.

3 thoughts on “Culinary delights, friends and children writing on walls

  1. OMG. I never watch Wife Swap, but the one episode I did watch was that episode. It’s amazing! I’m glad I now know what to do with those chiles. I have a bunch of dried ones I just look at angrily because I don’t know what to do to them. Smoking kills.

Leave a Reply

