Culinary Goals

Today`s blog is a bit different than my previous entries. I decided it would be a good idea to post my goals, possibly weekly for all to see. I hope that in this way I accomplish them more efficiently. Since I don`t have pictures of my goals, I will spice things up with photos of my life since Sunday.

Dishes to do

up close shot of dishes to do

First set of goals- Culinary

I am going to make the following items this week for fun and to practice my skills:

1. The best baked spinach from the Blog, Smitten Kitchen. I already made this last night. Pics are coming up.

2. Feuilletage Viennois- a recipe from the book I used at culinary school. I will turn this dough into-

3. Galettes au feuilletage  viennois-also a recipe from my school book

4. Kale and Pecorino Crostini-for the tapas party happening at Michael and my place this Saturday. Everyone is bringing a tapas and a drink. Or they are bringing one of the specific liquors I requested to make this-

5. Mike Romanoff– a cocktail with vodka, Grand Marnier, apricot liqueur, and lime juice

6.  Onion Soup with sage, brown butter, croutons, and grated lemon peel-for dinner some night this week

Wow, I am very ambitious this week. We will see how it goes.

Picture of the March picture of my owl calendar

Just so you know, before I moved to Paris, my sister Kimberly, and I both got owl tattoos on our feet. Our owls are very different from one another, just like us, but they are both owls.

I will share more goals with you tomorrow. For now, here is the baked spinach:

Baked Spinach

I used really huge leaves of spinach because that is what they had at 7pm  at the only produce stand still open on Saint Denis. The cheese is Emmenthal. This was an amazing dish! Michael and I finished the whole thing except one quarter cup of it. We had it with a fried egg and quinoa on the side.

Beautiful!

We enjoyed our spinach while watching a film by the famous French director, Louis Malle: Atlantic City.  I enjoyed the film, but not as much as the spinach!

7 thoughts on “Culinary Goals

  1. Hey–I saw that spinach recipe and have been thinking about making it all week too! It looks super delicious!

  2. That baked spinach looks so good. I like your owl-y calendar. Also, Viennese foliage dough? Is that very thin like? What do you put in the galettes?

    • you really should make that spinach. I will show you all the steps and everything of the galette hopefully this week. thanks for the comment sister.

  3. Dear Kristin, Yum, yum, yum, sounds so good my grandson is so fortunate. Louis Malle was married to Candace Bergen, daughter of Edgar Bergen.

    • Thanks for taking the time to figure out how to comment! That is cool you know who Louis Malle is. Have you seen his films? Who are the Bergen`s.

  4. Edgar Bergen was a famous ventriloquist in the 50’s. His puppet was Charlie McCarthy. I believe Candace Bergen was his ownly child and beautiful. She called Charlie her ‘brother’. I last saw her on Boston Legal, a tv show that Rick and I really enjoyed. She is probably in her 60’s. Hugs, how did your dinner party go? Love, Thelmo

Leave a Reply

